Initial Cubase Setup with External Devices

Hello all, while I’m not new to DAWs, I am new to Cubase and I have a number of questions about how to set up external hardware (synths, controllers and FX) within Cubase 12 Pro.

On the hardware synth side, I have a Kurzweil K2700, Hydrasynth Desktop and Moog Sub37 that I’d like to get set up as VST style instruments and also leverage the various controllers, pads, knobs, etc. on those devices.

For controllers, I have a Behringer X-Touch and BCR2000, as well as an Akai MPK mini I’d like to integrate.

Finally, I also have a Lexicon MX400 multi-effects unit that I have connected via both analog and S/PDIF connections to my Focusrite 18i8 interface and ADAT-connected Scarlett OctoPre preamp.

Any and all comments, pointers, suggestions, videos, previous posts, etc. that you can point me to on how to get all this gear connected within and optimized for use in Cubase would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

You got the whole range, ey? :slight_smile:

Let me start with the external synthesizers. There are different ways to integrate them.

1. The easy way
    If every synth is connected via its own midi port go to Studio → Studio Setup → MIDI → MIDI Port Setup.
    Click the entries in the column “Show As” and change the names to what ever suits you.

Then use MIDI tracks in Cubase to send data to your synths (not Instrument tracks)

2. Create a MIDI Device
    Studio → More Options → MIDI Device Manager…
    The general concept is that a MIDI Device gets assigned to a MIDI output. It can contain a bank/patch list, which then lets you chose those patches from Cubase’s inspector program change section. Furthermore it can contain Control Panels. Those are remote control panels and can look something like this
    grafik
    However, for your equipment I think there are no ready made devices so you would have to do this yourself from scratch, which takes quite a bit of time.

3. External Instrument