Inputs work on my PC but no sound gets to Cubase LE6

Hi guys,

Total newbie here, so I apologise in advance for any annoying questions!

Ok, I successfully installed:

1. Cubase 6 LE
  2. Zoom R16_R24 ASIO driver

Sorted the VST connections… two mono ins and a stereo in, as well as stereo out.

I connect my bass guitar to the inputs on the back of my computer and bass sound comes out of my speakers. Stereo sound comes out when I play a CD or whatever.

Why then, does my VST Inputs show that none of my device ports are connected and my Outputs claim that my speakers are not connected?
What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks in advance,
Greg

First, when using an ASIO sound device in Cubase all audio will be routed VIA that device, so your physical inputs and outputs will now need to be connected to that device. That is you will need to connect some speakers or headphones to the Zoom and plug your Bass into the Zoom inputs.

Second you need to set the correct ASIO driver (Zoom) in Cubase.

Third, you need to setup the connections, input tab and output tab to the correct Zoom inputs and outputs (the picture you posted is to small to see any detail)

Forth, it will show the inputs and outputs as not connected if you have no assignments made to any defined tracks.

Fifth, make a track and set the correct input and output bus.

You are now good to go.

Re read the getting started guide.

(the picture you posted is to small to see any detail)

Sorry! I thought it was going to be a thumbnail.

(I’m still trying to work through the setup BTW.)

cheers,
Greg

Here’s another one I created today:

image upload

Well, obviously you did not connect your device ports. You should really use the manual…

The replies you’ve had are right.