INSERTS: Right channel gets muted. Why?

Hey there,

I am new to cubase and have an issue. I have a mono source in Stereo configuration. When I apply effects in the insert section of that track it mutes the right channel of that effect. Why?

If I for example set a panning tool to the right the signal goes completly mute.

Thanks in advance :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi,

Sorry, I don’t know this plug-in. What is it, please?

Does it apply for any plug-in, or is it this specific one only?

Recording a mono source into a stereo track records the information only on the left or right channel, depending on your input configuration.

What the panning does depends on the exact plugin. Usually, instead of panning they actually do stereo balancing, which means that it doesn’t actually move the sound between the left and right channels, but adjusts the volume of the channels. That is, setting it to either extreme sets the volume of that channel to 100% and the other channel to 0%.

In this case, as you’re using mono input 1, Cubase records by default on the left channel of the stereo track. As the right channel doesn’t contain any audio data and you’re not getting any audio output, this plugin probably uses stereo balancing instead of actual panning.

Thank you for your response!

This plugin is “A1 Audio - A1StereoControl”. The issue does appear with any plugin I use. For example “Chow Matrix” (a stereo delay). I have put a stereoanalyzer and a side information filter on the “stereo out”, and I don’t get any stereo information out of this track, but only when I use the cubase panning.

When I record a single channel should I use the mono configuration? Does that allow for stereo insert effects? What am I to do with this project to get stereoprocessing on this track?

Here I have set up “Chow - Matrix”:

The right instance does not react no matter what I do, and the other is only putting up a mono delay when it is in the middle or panned to the left.