Integrated Loudness Meter Help

Hello all, I’m new to this whole thing of mastering, and I’m curious about the Integrated Loudness Meter.

It seems like every mix I do, things end up peaking 5-10, maybe more, decibels over the integrated loudness meter’s threshold. The current one I’m working on is peaking at -13.9.

I was wondering if anyone has any tips of knowing what to do to minimize that problem, or if it is even really a problem. Am I falling victim to the loudness war while in my mixing?

This metering is really for delivery of broadcast material based on average levels over time…it’s not as relevant to mixing though that’s not to say you won’t find the readings useful once you understand what they mean.

The reference level that you are comparing to is probably the default -23LUFS (EBUR128 Broadcast Standard) and your mix being louder than this is not a problem.

Here is a fairly basic explanation of loudness including EBU128 if you’re interested:

http://www.tcelectronic.com/loudness/loudness-explained/

So is the Integrated Loudness meter essentially the average level of the entire song? Like in Wavelabs Analyzer, it tells you the average DB level? I saw that it said one LU = 1 DB, but in terms of LUFS, is the -13.9 the average DB level of my mix?

So is the Integrated Loudness meter essentially the average level of the entire song?

Well to be clear it shows the average level of whatever audio has passed through it since it was last reset.
So if you reset and then played the song all the way though, yes.

Sweet! That makes me really happy, as I used to have to go into Wavelab to see the average level. Now that’s one less step when getting the mix where I want it.

Out of curiosity, is there a set level that the average should be?