Interesting experience

Okay, explain this one, Lucy. A few years ago I lost my NI FM7 disc, an then later I had to wipe the drive that it was installed on, so the vsti was now lost to my use. Today, I opened an older song that used it, and of course I was really missing it. I downloaded an update of FM7, but when Cubase launches, it says it can’t find the preset folder for it. So I wrote it off. But when I re-opened that song, there it was with the right preset listed in the Inspector, plus, most of all, it played back the right sound!

I suppose this means I won’t be able to use it in other projects, however

Well, I am no expert… but I think…
Cubase actually saves the value of every parameter set on the VSTi and the name that is in the preset box with the project.
It doesn’t just save the name of the preset and then load that preset when the project opens.
For example…
If you open a VSTi, then load a preset, then change the parameters of that VSTi (without re-saving the preset), then save and close the project, when you open the project back up, the parameters for the VSTi will be the same as you have adjusted them but the name in the preset box will be the same.
If you then select “load preset” and select the same preset, the values will go back to what is saved in the preset. Close the project WITHOUT saving and then open it and the parameters will be back to where you had modified them to.
In other words, Cubase does not load the instrument from the presets everytime you open the project, just when you load the PRESET, then it saves all the parameters with the project after that.
HTH
J.L.
EDIT: You may be able to get some of the presets that you have used in your projects back by opening the projects and then using the “Save Preset” function from the VSTi GUI to save those presets to the disk and then they will be available in other projects.

hey jaslan