Is there a preferred USB audio interface for Cubase 6?

I’m a newbie to the forum and I’ve searched with limited result, so I decided to take a shortcut and just ask:

Is there a preferred or recommended interface for use with Cubase?

I had an Aardvark 24/96 PCI card as my audio interface and a Steinberg Midex8 as midi interface when I was running Cubase Studio 4 on a Windows XP OS.

Now I will be using Windows 7 64 bit, and am researching USB 2.0 audio interfaces. I am a “one man band” most of the time, just recording myself on multiple instruments and multiple tracks, one track at a time.

Have you experienced Cubase users found that there is a favored or recommended USB audio interface that works best with Cubase?

Many thanks for your patience with a newbie.

If you want the best latency in a USB interface, then you can’t go wrong with RME. Sounds like the Babyface would be ideal for your needs:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Babyface

Yes, I know. It ain’t cheap, but they sell super reliable products no matter which DAW you use. Other products may be good, but will probably not give you the same audio quality, solid drivers, and low latency in a single product as any of the RME USB audio interfaces do.

Hi Glenn,

Don’t forget to check out our Steinberg USB advanced integration interfaces, they come in all prices and flavors:

http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/audio_interfaces/ci_series.html
:slight_smile:

I don’t see how a 10-in, 12-out interface would be ideal for the OP.

Many 2-channel USB devices can be used. The Steinberg ones are nice and offer good integration obviously with Cubase, and you also get a control device. Set your budget, and make a list of what you want and don’t need in an interface and it will be a bit easier to chose…

Hello,

I think, there is one very important patrameter to you, which is lazency of system, which depends on the ASIO driver.