Is there a way to group tracks together?

Hi,

I’m new to Cubase Elements 8, and I’m trying to work out of there is a way to group multiple tracks together so that I can move them all at once?

I’m writing music for film, and I need to line up the tracks to the correct timecode, and this would be so much easier if there was a way to move sections together - especially when instruments are coming in at separate times. If I could move them all together as a group, I could ensure they all stay in their relative positions, but if I have to move each track individually it’s going to take me ages to re-find the correct entry point for each instrument! I hope this makes sense.

Thanks!

Hi and welcome,

There are two ways, how to do this.

1. In MixConsole select track, you want to “group”. Right-click, and select “Add a Group Channel to selected tracks”. This will create a new channel, and the output of all selected tracks is routed to this Group Channel. Then, you can move just the Group Channel fader. Other faders don’t move, but the Volume changes. This is a Submix way, in fact.

2. In MixConsole select track, you want to “group”. Right-click, and select “Link selected Channels”. Now, you can move one of the fader, all other faders move with it. To “un-group”, select “Unlink” in the same menu.
    2.1) You can also use Q-Link (Quick Link), to link selected channels temporary.

1 Like

Hi Martin,