Is USB throughput too slow?

My apologies if this is already common knowledge but it’s worth mentioning incase anybody else finds it useful. Inspite of my pc being upto the job and the Cubase usage meter being reassuringly low, I was suffering from crackling in both audio and midi (vsti’s) after a few minutes of tweaking etc. which went away temporarily after clicking the “reset” tab in the audio config window. Now, I was using an M-Audio Fast Track (USB) but since switching to the Audiophile 24/96 (PCI card) it’s been fine. I had tried a bunch of different drivers for the Fast Track to no avail so I am guessing that USB throughput is perhaps just too slow. I should mention that I am no expert so I’d hate for anybody to waste money on a new interface only to find it makes no difference, but this is how it has (so far) worked out for me, so make of it what you will. Oh, and if it bears any relevence, it always happened regardless of which patch I was using.

Rubbish. Plenty of people using USB devices with no issues. USB speed is actually faster than IEEE 1394, IEEE1394’s advantage is bandwidth. Are you sure the USB port was 2.0? URL conflicts? Some kind of power saving scheme?

Yes it’s a perfectly functional USB 2.0 and there are no conflicts, the Fast Track wasn’t sharing a bus with anything etc.

You sort of answered your own question, if the problem is not constant and can be remedied by pressing a “reset” button, it’s not likely to be a throughput issue is it? The bandwidth needed for a couple of stereo streams and some midi is just second to none in relation to USB throughput.

Mashedmittens suggestion about power saving is something you should take a look at, fits the scene very good.