Jazz articulations: turn (or flip) between two notes

New user here, first post. Be gentle. :slight_smile:

I’m looking for a way to add a turn or flip between two notes in a jazz chart. In the new jazz articulations panel I only see a turn that can be added to a single note.

Something like this:

How do I do that?
Flip.png

I recommend creating a custom playing technique. How to Use the Playing Techniques Editor in Dorico Pro | Getting Started with Dorico 2 - YouTube

And welcome to the forum!

Thanks, I’ll give this a try. I was just surprised that this is not built in, considering how thoroughly Dorico covers everything else it does.

You should be able to create the existing flip at a position between two notes by positioning the caret there, then typing Shift+O and entering “flip” into the popover.

I feel very much like a beginner here, but I can’t get this to work. In fact I can’t seem to add any ornaments to already existing notes while the caret is showing. The only way in this mode seems to be to enter an ornament and then enter a new note; the ornament will then apply to the new note. Could somebody please be patient enough to explain what I’m missing?

(While we’re here, btw: I wish the Shift-O popover had auto-completion similar to what shows up in the Shift-T popover.)

Daniel’s suggestion doesn’'t work exactly as he said for me either, but this does work:

• make sure nothing is selected
  • put the cursor where you want the flip to be
  • press U to split the previous note (U stands for “untie” but it’s more general than that name might suggest)
  • Select the split note, type shift O and “flip”
  • Select the previous note, press T (“tie”) to join up the parts of the note again.

If I may, I remember that u stands for cUt… and it does cut slash regions, as well as ties :wink: