Just too hard to use

Sigh…
I am new to the audio recording world. I have used cooledit pro a very long time ago and now since I have got the new Steinberg ur22c, I am trying to use Cubase.

The software is too confusing to use and sometimes there is sound in my audio export while sometimes there isn’t any sound. The effect sometimes turns on while sometimes they are gone.

Just trying to release my stress and trying to understand what is happening in the software. I couldn’t even…

Cubase is complex. I would look for some online courses to get you going. If you’re not experienced in another DAW already, it’s hard to grasp some of the concepts and features by yourself.

I’ve had the same experience trying to use advanced photo and video editing software from scratch.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum!

What @RichardTownsend said is true.
At the time of Cool Edit, Cubase was already a lot more advanced. I was there too.

Today, Cubase is a very top notch DAW. And naturally very complex.

I would suggest you to give the Manual some reading, along with online tutorials. You will soon get confortable with it

Goodnluck!

Opening Cubase armed with only CoolEdit Pro knowledge is a lot like stepping into Abbey Road Studios after having experience with only a cassette tape recorder.

As @RichardTownsend suggested, there’s no way around getting to build up the basic knowledge about

• what gear a full professional studio environment contains,
  • what each piece of machinery is designed to do,
  • when and why you want to use a particular piece of equipment,
  • how to use each piece of equipment,
  • how the many pieces of are permanently wired together,
  • and what different wiring you need to do yourself, depending on the kind of recording session you’re undertaking

Because Cubase is like having a full professional studio environment in software. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

The truth is learning a DAW is similar in effort to learning a musical instrument.