LEFT USB DONGLE, ON ROAD, NOW WHAT?

Hi… I have been a licensed Cubase Pro User for many years (since 90s). I am on a project in Rio De Janeiro and realized that I left my USB Dongle back in the States so my Cubase 8.5 software won’t load. At first I did not mind purchasing another copy of Cubase but have been hit hard with the realization that it is about impossible to purchase anything in this country without paying 2 to 3 times the amount and being taxed what appears to be criminal rate. I would end up paying about 2 times more using sources out here…

So finally, after all this time, I realize what a pathetic system this UBS dongle is, even for honest licensed users as myself.

I have Arturia products on my system and can easily use online activation anywhere in the world.

My question is: Am I overlooking anything? is there a way I can use Cubase using a similar system as Arturia? And if no, is there a real, pro music source in Rio De Janeiro that I can turn to that may have a boxed copy with a USB key that I can purchase at a reasonable cost?

This experience seriously has me thinking about finally switching away from my favorite DAW. A simple mistake should not have such serious consequences IHO…

Any help or insight will be appreciated…

Hi,

You should contact your seller or local distributor/support.

If you lost your USB-eLicenser, there is a process. You have to send an affidavit, you lost it, with the SUB-eLicenser number (you can find it in your MySteinberg account). Then you will get an replacement Activation Code, and the former one will be detroied. So the only one thing you jave to buy is the USB-eLicenser, where you will activate e replacement license.

For Cubase Pro, you need the USB-eLicenser. There is no way around.