Licensing Methodology User Interface • Frustrations and Disappointments

Forgive the rant. I’m a little disappointed. The licensing methodology for Cubase and its constellation of softwares is far from intuitive.

I’m a technical consultant on a lot of interweb/audio/video stuff for a number of clients. Maybe I’m not entirely clueless. Yet this licensing software makes me feel like I’m trying to program one of those old fashioned VCR’s (“Video Cassette Recorders” for those who don’t remember them. The joke was that nobody could figure out how to program them to record at a specific time. People expected to record the big game and found they’d recorded teletubbies instead.)

I’ve got four separate programs that handle different aspects of the same data:

• the e-licenser software
  • the download assistant
  • the library manager
  • the activation manager

Just shooting the breeze here… but… shouldn’t these all be combined in one interface?
Things I need:

• A filterable search field for everything.
  • Show me just a filtered list of what I’m licensed to install. Use icons to indicate what is installed and what has yet to be. Let me click a button to install or uninstall.
  • Show me a list of what’s new and free that’s not installed that I am allowed to install and make getting the license for free stuff easy right there in the combined interface.
  • Show me a list of stuff I’ve installed that isn’t licensed with an alert icon and give me a button to remedy that even if it goes to my account on the Steinberg website and shopping cart. If it’s free, help me remedy the free license. Give me the option to uninstall the unlicensed software too.
  • Show me a library of available stuff that’s not installed with an actual filterable search field and make it easy for me to manage installing it. Ask me for the activation code before installing it.