Link Groups Should Work More Like Pro Tools

I am new to Cubase Pro coming from Pro Tools 2018 HD. One thing that has jumped out at me is how Link Groups work in Cubase. Coming from another DAW, the implementation of Link Groups in Cubase is underwhelming. Cubase should incorporate the following features from PT:

1. A track should be able to be assigned to more than one link group at once.
  2. You should be able to have a link group fully configured but turned off. While a link group is turned off all tracks still work independently but when turned on all tracks work together based on the settings of the specific link group(s) that are currently active. In Pro Tools all of the link groups (they are just called groups in PT, not to be confused with Group Tracks in Cubase) are in a resizable area of the window. When you create a group it defaults to being turned on, however, you can easily turn it off. At any time you can click which group(s) you want to turn on and then you can control the parameters on tracks in those groups. This allows you to:
  • Have several different link groups. Permanent NOT temporary!
    • Have tracks assigned to different link groups. Some tracks might be assigned to one link group and other tracks might be assigned to several link groups.
    • Have link groups turned on or off.
    • Only turn on link groups when you want to use them.
  1. I kind of state this in the above bullet but I want to make sure I point it out. You should be able to turn on more than one link group at a time. When multiple link groups are turned on and you change a parameter one on track it should also change the parameter on any of the other tracks where:
  • Other tracks are in at least one of the active link groups.
    • The link group(s) have the parameter checked in the link group settings.
      Here is a scenario that further illustrates my point:
  • You have Link 1 which links changing of the Volume.