Live performance set up...

Hey dudes,

First off sorry if this is posted in the wrong category, couldn’t see another one that might be relevant, I’ve spent a while searching and couldn’t find a similar thread. In addition to this I’d like to make it clear I am very much a total noob when it comes to using anything electronic in a musical setting so I will need very simplistic instructions… :wink:

I’ve got some string arrangements loaded on cubase on my laptop that I can trigger using some drum pads connected to an Alesis io midi unit. All works fine, I tap whichever pad I want and it starts the selected string or keyboard sample no problem, plays through the laptop speakers fine. Would anyone know how / what I need to do to use this in a live performance?

The best way I can explain it is I want the sound that comes through my laptop speakers to come through a PA instead. I’ve been told I need to use a D I box…not sure how true that is or what a D I box does, where I’d need to hook it up to or anything…

Any help would be massively appreciated

turbo-n00b

Looks like you’re not using an audio interface but your laptop’s integrated audio. For live use, it’s latency is too high, which means that samples start with something like a 100ms delay from when you hit the MIDI controller to when you hear the sound. If you’ve learned to compensate this (as in trigger slightly in advance), then fine, all you need is a cable that connects your laptop’s headphones output to the PA system (you’d need a Y cable: stereo mini-jack on one side and two separate 1/4" jacks on the other.)

If you want a more responsive system, however, you’d need to buy a decent audio interface, which hooks up to your laptop via USB. In that case, you’d connect the audio interface’s stereo out to the PA system.