Lost Project Data After Update?

I updated Cubasis a couple times in the past and all my project data was saved. This time its not there.

Please advise.

Hi glamourati,

Please let us have more details what you have done actually:

Thanks,
Lars

I clicked the “Update” button in the App store. After the App "updated, " my previous projects were no longer in the Projects list (the multipane list widget) if you are a developer. The expected behavior was for my projects not to get smoked from an update. From an uninstall/delete/fresh install yes, but not from an “Update.” Reproducible? No as there is no way to “re-update” an updated app. You might want to try to reproduce in your QC lab with an older image and then update to the latest. Being a developer, I suspect the inode info is still there but just not linked to the user friendly “filename” and hence not available to the project list widget.

Hi glamourati,

Thanks for the update, sorry to hear about your data loss.

So far, we have not experienced lost projects or data on our iPads, when updating Cubasis ourselves either via beta or release versions.
Nonetheless, we highly recommend to create backups on a regular basis, to be protected from data loss at any time.

Cubasis offers many options to backup your files, such as iTunes File Sharing, Dropbox, iCloud Drive, export to external hard drives etc.
Please have a look at the MediaBay chapter in the Cubasis in-app help to learn more about the available options and how to use them.

Best wishes,
Lars

If I back up with iTunes File Sharing by copying the Projects folder to my desktop, can I then copy single projects from the backup back into the Projects folder on the iPad or are you forced to copy the whole Projects folder over the existing one on the iPad?

Hi,

It‘s easily possible to transfer single files and/or single projects back to Cubasis via iTunes File Sharing - also from within your projects backup folder on the computer.

Best,
Lars