LT RT encoding

I have to encode a 5.1 mix for a film into LT RT. I have never done that before, and it does not seem to work.

I have the 5.1 mix as 6 separate files. I have created a new session and then import all the files to 6 different tracks. I created a 5.0 output and deleted the lfe. So the remaining 5 tracks I route to the correct output on the 5.0. Then I insert the Matrix Encoder in the 5.0. I get a good sounding stereo file.

Now I want to reverse the process. I create a session with an LRCS output. I import the stereo encoded file and put the decoder in the LRCS output. What I hear now is a mono file. What am I doing wrong?

Best wishes,

Max

A sorry, I see what I did wrong. It is working now.

Hi Max,

Please correct me if I’m wrong on this…but to my knowledge you have built an LoRo fold down.
A true LtRt process to the best of my knowledge is only used for TV broadcast, not for a theatrical film release.
And not too often anymore.
If you need to do this from a surround mix, you must use a Dolby approved processor.
You might need to double check with your client if LtRt is really what they want.

A few times I was facing similar requirements, I’ve always done a separate regular stereo mix.
That works, always and reliably.

best of luck…

Hi Andrew,

thanks for your reply. I never had to deliver an LT RT conversion. So far, it always worked without it. It seems to be an old format. But yes, I first thought I need a Dolby E converter to produce a real LT RT. But the Matrix Encoder does give me a stereo file that can be decoded into LCRS. So it seems to work. But I will definitely give them a normal stereo mix as well.

Best wishes,

Max

Max,

No, that would not be a Dolby E converter.
For a compatible LtRt down mix you would need this :

http://www.minnetonkaaudio.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=76

There might be other software …