Lufs track meters

Actually it is. Just add lufs meter options to all tracks in mixconsole.
It would be a really useful feature, i’ve been dreaming of such a thing for several years now and I was so much excited when I saw this in reaper
You can find an example on 16.32 of this video: New features in REAPER v6.35 | LUFS track meters and more - YouTube

1 Like

Why do you need a lufs meter on a single track? What would the target signal be? You do know that the more tracks you put on the higher the lufs is going to be in the long run?

1 Like

LUFs calculates loudness in a different way to the meters in cubase, so I can see mixing uses where this may be important to a new generation of engineers who ae less interested in peaks, more interested in perception and average loudness. Just because we don’t do it that way, doesn’t mean it isn’t an interesting idea or a potentially useful one.

1 Like

I see where you’re coming from, but loudness isn’t measured on the input, it’s measured on the output. That would mean you’d have to touch a kick drum with a q-tip to reach of required loudness on the input. It’s nonsensical. Perceive loudness is applied to the output of a sound. The input signal of a guitar is going to be louder sounding than the input of a bass guitar. Because if the way we perceive sound. But the energy of the bass guitar is going to be greater than that over the six string guitar which, if you went by the method you’re proposing, you wouldn’t even hear the bass.