master pages - worksheet issue

Hey Folks,

I am working on an instrument ranges worksheet, and I’m having (unfortunately, the usual) battle with Master Pages.

I have a master page, First1, for the Flute part with all 18 Flows on one page. All the frames are all MA, and they are ordered in ascending Frame order (see screenshots). However, the first frame shows up as Flow7 and the other frames are not in order of the Flows.

I also tried creating a Custom Master Page no based on the defaults, and the results were worse! Complete random appearances of Flows in the frames…

Any idea what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks

I suspect the Flows are actually correct, but the Flow Headings are wrong. Flow Headings display the Project Information for (whatever Dorico thinks is) the nearest flow. It doesn’t take much to confuse this mechanism, obviously…
For safety, I think I’d do the Flow Headings manually: rather than using {@flowTitle@} I think I’d use {@flow1Title@} for the first one, {@flow2Title@} for the second, etc.

Hi,

@pianoleo, You are right that the Flows are correct but the Flow Headings are being misread somehow. When I do the manual change of the Flow Headings {@Flow1Title@}, the incorrect Flow name shows up! And that title is in fact nowhere, as you can see that my Project Info and Setup mode flows all have the correct titles. (see screenshots)

screenshots

screenshots2

I’m afraid you’re incorrect. If I look at your “manual entry of flow number” screenshot, I can see that what you’ve got is:
{@flowNumber@} = automatic = flow 7
{@flowComposer@} = automatic = flow 7
{@flow1Title@} = manual = flow 1

If I then cross-reference against your “incorrect name of flow” I can see that that’s producing:
7 = automatic flow number for flow 7
Widor, Charles-Marie = automatic composer for flow 7
Treatise on Instrumentation = manual (correct) title for flow 1.

You’ll need to use manual token references throughout - flow1Number, flow1Composer, flow1Title

1 Like