Match samples to tempo of project - beginner

Hi everyone

I wondered if you could help as this has almost ruined my weekend and I’m admitting defeat!

I am pretty much an absolute beginner on Cubase and I have Elements 9, not pro.

What I’m hoping to do is start making hip-hop style beats by cutting/slicing samples from full audio songs (mp3s). I’ve managed to drag in the song, find the section I want and isolate it, so that the start and end points are perfect.

What I just cannot work out is how to match the tempo of the sample to the click track, so I can then add my own drums, synths etc. I would also like to trigger hit points in groove agent, but after already matching the tempo.

I’ve come across a couple of options:

1. Tempo Detection - this seems to automate via musical mode, but this is sadly missing from Elements

2. Set Tempo from Event - I have got some results from this if I want to get the click track to match the song, but it’s the other way around I’m after. This restricts me hugely as if I bring in other samples from other songs with other BPMs, they don’t match and I get in a mess again.

I am sure there is a simple way around this which doesn’t involve spending another £400 (which I don’t have), so any help at all you guys can give me would be VERY much appreciated.

Thanks all

Paul

Pretty pretty please

I’m pretty sure that for what you are asking, you will need the Pro version to do that.

You must set the original tempo of the sample in the Audio Pool (ctrl-p on windows) and enable Musical Mode, then it will timestretch automatically to the project tempo. If you dont know the original tempo select the cut out audio part on the audio channel, then go to Project>Beat Calculator and fill in how many beats the part contains and it will show you it’s BPM count.

Tricky.