Melisma in plain chant, "modern" notation

Hi!
I’m new to Dorico and still learning a lot. Right now I want to incorporate a plain chant within a choral composition and for that I would like to recreate a notation style similair to this:

I found out about free measures and how to get noteheads without stems, but is there a possibility to get the notation of the melismas as in the example, with the noteheads right next to eacht other?
Appreciative of any help!

Oh, and another question: The chant is going to be accompanied by a long sustained note which I want to notate as a single whole note with a fermate, despite it being mathematically much longer. Is there any way to accomplish this?

You could try inserting a Note Spacing Change (both the Default space and minimum space), and then resetting it afterwards. Once you’ve got one that works, you can copy them with alt-click.

But TBH, “this isn’t plainchant” – this is an approximation in modern notation, presumably for people who are more comfortable reading modern notation. So why make it not like modern notation? (You’re not indicating quilismas, liquescent notes, etc; nor are you aligning the vowel with the start of each neum group; etc, etc.)

I would just let Dorico space them normally, and put a slur over the group.

Also, is the quarter barline supposed to be where it is…?

For the second question: you can either use a hidden tuplet to express “one whole note in the time of… however long it is”; you could just use a whole note and hide any following rests.
(Whole note – not a double whole note?)

You can make sort work of this using Manual note spacing.

1 Like