Microkorg through mixer record issues, please help

Hello everyone.

I’m new to Cubase, just got my MPD connected and it’s working fine, however I can’t hear anything from my Microkorg. I don’t want to use it as a MIDI (I have MIDI cables for it but I think you kinda loose the whole idea of the synth) Instead I got a Behringer xenyx mixer and I want to record the actual sounds of the Microkorg into Cubase.

I have ASIO drivers and Behringer USB drivers and got in/out as active in the Device Setup section.

BEHRINGER USB AUDIO (VST Audio System)
When I press the keys on the MK both the mixer, line in and even the indicator in Cubase are picking this up, however no sound from my speakers…

ASIO4ALLv2 (VST Audio System)
I can hear sounds from my MPD, but I loose the Microkorg.

Is there anyone here that can help me understand what I’m doing wrong, why there is no sound?
How can I record the Microkorg actual sounds and use my MPD as MIDI at the same time?

No ideas? … :frowning:

Are your speakers connected to the Xenyx stereo output??

Did you remember to click on the monitor button in Cubase? (It’s to the immediate right of the record button) That’s a very common newbie mistake, so don’t sweat it.

I tried it and I could actually hear the MK sound from the speakers when I did. the downside is that the MIDI pad i use (MPD18) is USB only and the sounds from that device goes straight in to the computer, which means I have to use two speaker sources to hear both of them. I thought the sounds shouldn’t matter since it’s a record issue I was just strucked that I heard no sound… and now I do, but still no response on any of the sound indicator “bars” in Cubase from the microkorg.

When I go Devices > Decive Setup > BEHRINGER USB AUDIO DRIVER
I see that I have 2 active outputs but 2 inactive Inputs, I figured it ought to be the problem.
However I can’t seem to be able to activate them whatever I do.
When I switch around in VST System Link nothing changes either :frowning: