MIDI Controller, Assigning CC’s or Quick Controls?

Hi. I have just bought an arduino based 3 fader midi controller to be able to control expression, dynamics, vibrato. I am just unsure of the best way to work with it in terms of avoiding clashes in Cubase. I can configure the MIDI CC and channel for each fader on the unit itself.

I also have a Keystation 88 Pro and I am noticing clashes with the mod wheel on cc1 in some instruments. So as a complete noob on this, what is the best way to set things up so I am not accidentally affecting instruments I don’t want to? I am a guitarist and new to all this side of things.

I am using Kontakt and Spitfire BBCSO mainly, but would obviously be nice to use with other things if needed.

I managed to add it as a Generic Remote and then in VST Quick Controls, but not sure if this is what is causing clashes? Would it be better to assign the fader to 3 CC’s that are rarely used? Would I need to then just assign the QC each time?? I have search and all this is simply over my head at the moment. In an ideal world I would set the unit so that I could just use midi learn and then take control, play the CC’s in and off I go.

Thank you in advance and sorry for the noob questions.

Hi,

What exactly does this mean? are these parameters controllable by specific MIDI CC? Or is it always different, based on the Instrument you use/load?

By sending plain MIDI CCs to the MIDI track, you record common MIDI data. Then it’s on the instrument side to interpret it. So either you are sending MIDI CCs which are assigned already, or you can assign the MIDI CC to a specific controller in the plug-in.