Midi-Controlling guitar rig 5 in cubase

I am new with Cubase (Cubase 7 Elements). I want to use softsynths in Cubase and modify the sound with guitar rig (realtime, with a midi-controller-foot-pedal).
I used the insert-slot to integrate guitar rig. It works.
But it is not possible to use the guitar-rig-midi-controller. If I choose Midi-Learn and move the pedal, there is no reaction.
What is the easiest/best way to midi-control guitar rig in cubase?
Because I am a beginner, a step-by-step-description would be great!
Thanks!

Using guitar rig 5.2 and CB7.5 (and earlier versions of both) you have to add a midichannel and have it listen, midi in to the controller, and have its midi out to the guitar rig audio track

(EDIT: just seen gkruse’s reply, which is of course the right answer :wink: )

OK… it looks like you have done everything correctly so far :wink:
But now, you need to create a 2nd MIDI track, with your desired MIDI controller as its input, record-enabled (at the same time as the track for the soft synth), and route this 2nd MIDI track’s output to the MIDI input of Guitar Rig (you should see it available at the very bottom of the dropdown list of available MIDI destinations for that MIDI Track).
So now, when you operate your external MIDI keyboard and/or MIDI controller, you are sending MIDI to both the soft synth and to Guitar Rig.
Btw, to avoid a horrible MIDI loop (and probable freeze), make sure that the Input to each of these tracks is set to the appropriate output of your external keyboard and/or MIDI controller, and not the option, “All MIDI Inputs”.

It works, thanks. But I only use one Midi Track to control the guitar-rig-insert in the softsynth-track.
I do not need a midi-track for the softsynth itself, or?

How did you create the softsynth?.. is it in fact an Instrument Track (Project Menu>Add Track>Instrument>dropdown list)? Or did you add it to the VST Instruments rack, and it is a “regular” MIDI track that is feeding it?