MIDI Device File Repository?

Where does everyone share their custom MIDI Device files? I’m new to Cubase and looking for device files for some vintage synths / sample players:

• Akai AX73 / VX90
  • Kurzweil 1000 GX
  • Kurzweil 1000 AX Plus
  • Roland JX-3P

Alternately, if forced to roll my own, I’m happy to share. I’ve looked around but came up empty.

1 Like

Woops! I just realized there’s actually no import/export MIDI devices option after all. Seems an odd omission. Am I missing something?

You can import and export MIDI Instrument profiles and/or patch scripts.

Go to Devices\MIDI Device Manager

Here’s a site that provides a number of presets, scripts, and setup files:
http://www.rivetedstudios.com/download/all-cubase-patch-scripts/
While some of these have been around a long time I find they still work in today’s Cubase 8.5 Pro.

Your favorite Web Search engine may turn up even more sites.

I’m happy to hear there’s an import/export option but I simply can’t find it.

In MIDI Device Manager, I see just five buttons: Install Device, Remove Device, Export Setup, Import Setup, and Open Device. Three of those are pretty intuitive, but as far as I can tell, Import Setup and Export Setup serve to backup your entire configuration - not individual profiles. How do I add profiles to the list that appears in Install Device? Or is it done some other way?

Thank you for your assistance!

Note, there are a couple of different types of MIDI device profiles out there for Cubase.

1. Patch Scripts. These are TXT files.
    These are typically just a patch list that will pop up in the track inspector (So you don’t have to enter bank and program change information manually…Just select a patch ‘by name’).

2. Complete Device Profiles. These are XML files.