MIDI device no longer recognized

Since a system restart, Dorico no longer recognizes my MIDI keyboard. Sort of.

The keyboard is listed in Preferences–Play–MIDI Input Devices, and the device is checked. But when I play, there’s no green dot, and note input doesn’t work.

My DAW is recognizing my keyboard, so I’m stumped. This is the same keyboard and same computer I’ve been using successfully for several years.

Any ideas? Cross-posting to FB because it’s work time and I need a solution! :grimacing:

Edit: same keyboard, same USB cable, different computer - MIDI works in Dorico.

What MIDI Keyboard?

Long story but I’ll try make it brief.

Some stuff (Cough, Cough, AKAI) just uses really old reference Microsoft drivers for USB>MIDI. They didn’t go in and make them ‘multi-client’ friendly so multiple apps can use it at the same time.

I ‘suspect’ your DAW grabbed the interface FIRST, so now Dorico can’t get to it. Had you run Dorico ‘first’, then the opposite would be true. Dorico would get the events, and your DAW would not.

There are solutions.

One is to simply set up a Virtual port. Launch your DAW First, and arm an empty MIDI track out of the way somewhere that simply takes any of your keyboard input and sends it out that virtual port.

Now Dorico can pick it up off the Virtual port.

Another option is to use something like Bome Translator Classic AND a Virtual Port. Launch Bome First (It has lots of interesting features for making your keyboard a little ‘smarter’). Divert the output of the keyboard into Bome, and then from Bome into a virtual port, and then ALL of your clients can get the messages from the ‘virtual port’.

Are you on Windows or Mac?

If Windows, I recommend loopMIDI for setting up virtual ports. It’s multi-client friendly, secure, and easy to add or remove as many ports as you like, and name them anything you like.