MIDI keyboard note input lag (NotePerformer3)

Facebook group post

I notice that when I try to enter notes rapidly (I’m a pretty good pianist) there is enough lag with my MIDI keyboard in Dorico that it actually stops me from entering notes!

I tried it with Finale and don’t have any lag when inputting notes.

I’m wondering if there might be an adjustment somewhere in the setting that I might have missed?

Or is there some technical reason why this lag exists? I mean, I can probably make do with it, knowing that the end result will be a better more efficient score, but faster note entry would be nice.

I notice this particularly when entering sequences of 16th notes (where I will tend to play a bit faster).
This is just note entry in single lines, I’m not asking Dorico to interpret my keyboard noodlings.

I hope I’m expressing the issue and situation correctly.

Same here, with only MIDI out (no NotePerformer). It feels like Dorico needs to do something between note input and screen display and it chokes up very fast

1 Like

For me I didn’t noticed any delay. I use Note Performer 3. I can play and write very fast 16th and all are notated instantly.

Does your lagging happens in particular projects or generally? Can you try with an empty project?
The things (possible solutions) that comes in mind are:
-Check the Midi Delay Compensation (I use in Preferences/Play/Midi input latency compensation set to 0)
-Reduce the Buffer Size (Edit/Device Setup/Device Control Panel/Buffer Size I use 256 Samples, but try to put a lower number)
-it can also depend on the VST you are using…?