Midi keyboard volume way too quiet

Hi, I have Cubase 11 LE AI Elements and a Midistart Music 25 midi keyboard (USB input)
When I press keys on the keyboard they are way too quiet (can’t really hear them) and do not match the volumes set in the cubase project. If I turn the volume of my scarlett2i4 sound interface right up then the keyboard input can be heard - but if you then play the mix the volume is way to loud. In the past with my other midi keyboard it just played at the volume of the tracks in the mix. What can I do to adjust this? Is this possible with the version of Cubase I have? Or do I need another midi keyboard that will work with this?
Any help will be gratefully appreciated as this is driving me mad!
Thank you - Phil

Hi,

The Midistart Music 25 is just a MIDI keyboard. What sounds generator (instrument) do you use, please?

Hi there - it’s any of the instruments I use within Cubase. I’m not technically gifted but what I can see is that my tracks are set at 0 but when I hit the keys on the midi keyboard the highest it goes to is about -5 and only when I push the volume up with the slider in the mixer to the top does the volume then go to zero from the keyboard, but then that instrument in the mix is too loud. I’m used to the midi keyboard matching the volume of the track in the mix. Maybe I’m not explaining it too well! Any ideas?
Screenshot 2021-09-27 at 20.59.19|177x461

Record some MIDI to a track with the controller. Look at it in the MIDI List Editor. Are the note-on velocities consistently low?

I’ve seen this before. I’ve an old Yamaha KX76 controller that gives a max key velocity at about 50% (same with the old DX7). Not sure why it behaves that way but it always has. Would never produce more than a value of 64 for note-on velocity in my sequencers, no matter how hard I hammered the keys, and I never found settings in the keyboard to change this ‘velocity curve’ in the instrument itself, so Cubase to the rescue!