Midi notes hanging and will not stop

I am new to cuebase and have been test recording some tracks. When recording midi if I hold down a chord on strings and use sustain pedal after a few bars it will go crazy. If I hit reset it stops. I tried a piano track and it does the same thing about a verse into the song if I hold the sustain pedal. It is a yamaha mx88 and im using cuebase le ai elements 10.

What does this mean? Can you provide a step-by-step?
(The more details you can provide, the more likely you will get helpful replies.)

All the notes hang and will not stop and sometimes its like a big thud… only happens if i hold down chords on strings for a few bars or hold down sustain pedal playing grand piano

The problem ‘might’ be that you have your synth in Local Mode, while MIDI Thru is active in Cubase.

What I mean by this…

In Local Mode, when you hit a key on the synth it triggers a sound locally. It will ALSO send a MIDI event. If MIDI Thru is active in Cubase, it echos back into the synth and trys to trigger the same sound and/or continuous controller a second time. A kind of ‘feedback’.

In Controller mode (Local OFF), if you tap a key It doesn’t generate a sound unless it’s looped back into the synth via MIDI.

If you like to use local mode, then disable MIDI Thru in Cubase.

If you prefer Controller Mode (Local OFF), then you’ll Need MIDI Thru enabled in Cubase.

Most DAW users will want to have Local OFF on the MX88, with MIDI Thru ON in Cubase. That makes the keyboard something of an ‘independent, soundless, MIDI controller’. Meanwhile the DAW can still use the ‘tone generator’ portion of the synth by directing output from MIDI or Instrument tracks back into the instrument.

Check out page 23 in the MX88 Manual for more info on use with Cubase.

Another thing that ‘might’ be happening…