Midi notes sticking, plus other stuff

I’m new to cubase… coming from Logic Pro x. There were a couple things in Logic I didn’t like regarding drawing of automation, plus I was thinking about switching to Windows in the future anyway.

I have to say, so far I’m not happy and I just spent quite a bit of money on Cubase 11 Pro. Granted I’m new to Cubase and just dabbling with the interface. However, right off the bat I’m having midi notes sticking! Grr… It sounds find when recording. However, on play back the initial notes I played stick. I have a 1 measure count off and then start playing immediately after that count off (on the first measure’s downbeat). Those first notes get stuck. That’s crappy. That never happened in Logic.

Also, I have a magic pad for Mac which works amazingly well in Logic Pro. It allows me to use pinch motions to easily zoom horizontally and vertically in track view and editors. I sorta figured out how to do it in Cubase - via Command + double-finger swipes. However, that only works for horizontal zooming. It looks like there isn’t a way to do vertically zooming.

Also, the workflow is way simpler in Logic Pro x… the screens in cubase are fairly clunky in comparison. I guess I could get used to it, but gosh it’s a lot different. I can say that the automation drawing is much nicer in Cubase, but that’s about all I’ve seen so far that is better than Logic Pro x.

The other thing is some of the instruments and effects windows look like the graphics are really dated and blurry. They aren’t clean/crisp on my 4k monitor. That’s pretty annoying considering it’s the new release of cubase. I think there is a hidpi setting for windows, but I’m using Mac.

I’m going to try more tomorrow, but having buyer’s remorse.

Hi and welcome,

It’s strongly recommended to keep the very 1st bar free and start your music at bar 2 or 3 in Cubase.