MIDI Remote API Help with LED activation

So I’m getting in over my head with the JS API for MIDI Remote.

Ultimately I want to get my X-touch One working in the way that I want, which I think I’ll be able to with the API. However, at the moment I’m experimenting with simpler controllers, and am having issues getting LEDs on buttons to work in the way I would expect. I’m by no means a JS developer, I’m just trying to learn as I go, so please take this into account!

I’ve created a functional script for my APC mini (which has a grid of buttons which send out Note On/Note Off, and illuminate as you would expect when used with the ‘consumer’ MIDI Remote - they light up when the button is pressed, and then go out when it’s released).

I want to control the LEDs, and at the moment I have the following script (this is part of a for loop, but you get the idea):

var button = deviceDriver.mSurface.makeButton(buttonIndex * 2, 8 - channelIndex, 2, 1)

var note_number = (channelIndex * 8 ) + buttonIndex

button.mSurfaceValue.mMidiBinding
                .setInputPort(midiInput).setOutputPort(midiOutput)
                .bindToNote (0, note_number)

button.mSurfaceValue.mOnProcessValueChange = function(activeDevice, value) { 
                if (value)
                    turnOnLED(activeDevice, note_number)
                else
                    turnOffLED(activeDevice, note_number)
            }

This doesn’t work. However, if I change it so it’s always a fixed note number:

button.mSurfaceValue.mOnProcessValueChange = function(activeDevice, value) { 
                if (value)
                    turnOnLED(activeDevice, 1)
                else
                    turnOffLED(activeDevice, 1)
            }

This does work, but only on the same LED for all the buttons (i.e. the press status of any of the 64 buttons is reflected on button 1).