Midi signal but no resonse from VST

I am new to Cubase (artist 7). I am using an m-audio m-track as my external sound card. I have my Oxygen 49 midi controller going into the midi slot in the m-track. My question is this: even though when I load Halion sonic, or any other vst instrument for that matter, I get no sound even though I am definitely getting midi input. Even the “red dot” on Halion and the number by the preset lights up when I play the keyboard, but I am getting no sound.

I am pretty sure I have all the sound busses sent out right, because when I use the mouse/arrow to play the virtual keyboard at the bottom of Halion or any other instrument, I get sound, but not when I play my midi controller, even though I am getting a signal. It seems odd that I would get a signal from my midi keyboard but the keys on the virtual keyboard don’t reflect the notes I am playing. I know to send the midi-out to the VST instrument. My input routing is set to “all MIDI inputs” (but also receives MIDI if I set it to M-track external) and my output routing is to whatever VST instrument I have it set for. The MIDI thru is active in preferences.

Eventually I want to learn how to assign all eight midi tracks from my Ensoniq EPS to VST instruments - I’ll be back to ask how to do THAT later . . . right now I just want Halion Sonic (or any other VST) to play when it gets a midi signal!!

System specs are windows 7 64 bit. And yes, the monitor (next to the record button) is enabled. I actually had quit smoking before I bought this program and the stress from spending all this money on a program (and the M-track) that won’t do what I need it to do, since the only instrument I play is keyboards and sequencers, has me smoking again. I really am that stressed out and thinking of returning the product.

I thank anyone in advance for helping me out.

OK, create a new MIDI track.