Missed opportunity

I’ve been using Dorico Elements for about 18 months, (off and on, because I often drift back to Musescore which is easier to use and more flexible),
I do believe that Dorico is a capable programme. What spoils it, is that it is overly complicated and thoroughly unintuitive; it reveals itself as something amusing for clever software designers and engineers, but presents an upward struggle for the ordinary musician who wants to concentrate on music creation and not on wasting time delving into the myriad menu and formatting options.
I shall have to persevere with the programme, (unless I write-off the £85 spent on it ), but it is not a happy collaboration.
The manual is an even bigger disappointment ! Not the place for an aspiring user to learn something; seemingly just a vehicle for displaying the more ‘clever’ options within the programme.

2 Likes

Tha manual is a great reference, but to get started with the program, there are a number of preferable resources on the Resources Page.

One of the greatest hurtles newcomers to the software face is where to look for things. Dorico has a logic to its semantic layout once one takes the time to learn it.

(There is no such thing as intuitive.)

5 Likes

I believe I wrote unintuitive.

It’s not intuitive in the sense that you can’t just gawp at the screen and figure out how to do everything. :grin:

This is largely because Dorico attempts to cater to the whole gamut of music notators, from simple lead sheets and hymns through to Boulez, by way of Monteverdi and Duke Ellington. You can construct simple pieces very quickly and easily, but it also has to be possible to do more sophisticated things easily, too.

I’d suggest that you can get very far from learning a few key concepts, and there is a wealth of tutorial info, as videos or follow-through guides.
Once you’ve grasped a few things, you’ll find that Dorico often behaves in the same way across the whole app.