Mixer settings aren't sent via MIDI on project load

Hello everyone,

I’m new to Cubase Studio 5, and I’m just learning the ropes so to speak.

I work with Cubase Studio 5 as a pure MIDI sequencer at the moment, to control my synths (Korg Radias and Korg M3), so all my tracks are MIDI tracks and there are no VST plugins or things like that in my project.

I found the mixer window (F3 key), and it seems like a very nice way of setting MIDI volume level (CC #7?) on each timbre in each synth, as they are all there on one screen.

When I move the sliders they transmit volume changes to my synths just fine and everything works great. I’ve also selected bank and program on each synth’s global MIDI channel so once I load the project, the correct combi (multi-timbral setup on Korg synths) is selected on each synth.

But here’s the problem - when I load the project, the program change messages are transmitted just fine to the synths, BUT volume settings are not. When I play back the MIDI data in Cubase, the volumes are whatever they are set to in each synth before the project was loaded, and they do not change to match the sliders in the mixer window in Cubase.

During playback, if I open the mixer window (F3 key) and change a slider (or changes the same slider in the inspector window under “MIDI Fader”), the volume MIDI message is sent and the volume on the synth timbre snaps to the correct value, but I can’t seem to get it to send that data automatically when song playback starts.

Does anyone know how I can make this work? I’ve checked my MIDI filters, and the only filters I have is Sysex in the “Record” box and Program Change and Sysex in the “Thru” box, and under “Controller” CC 123 (AllNoteOff) is selected in that box.

I’d love to be able to use the built-in mixer in Cubase to mix the entire song with all synths/midi channels together rather than having to adjust each timbre on each synth individually.

Any help will be appreciated! :slight_smile:

Rune