Mixing an acoustic guitar to sound like a resonator - ideas?

Hey folks. I’m quite new at this mixing game, just learning as I go. I wondered if anyone could suggest any plug ins/mixing tricks (for Cubase Elements 9) that could make a recorded acoustic guitar part sound a bit like a resonator/dobro guitar?

Thanks, Cameron.

They are two different instruments. They are played differently. They have very different acoustical properties.

So the short answer is No.

Indeed, the short answer is no. However, it’s an interesting question. You’re really asking about sound design, which is a challenging field. Doing it well requires serious dedication and serious tools. You can reach for the low-hanging fruit, but there will be compromises – perhaps severe compromises.

The bedrock of sound design is understanding how musical instruments work, because you’re essentially designing a computer model instrument. Something almost like that happens when we process the hell out of a track. We can also warp sound by how we record it. I solved the problem of making an electric guitar sound like an acoustic guitar by combining weird processing and weird recording.

Looking at the dolbro, it seems you could stick an aluminum pie plate on an acoustic guitar and mic what happens. It’ll most likely sound like an acoustic guitar with a pie plate stuck to it instead of a dolbro :astonished:, but maybe that track could be loaded with reverb and mixed with a clean acoustic guitar track to get closer. What if you stick a fake resonator or two to you studio monitor and record what happens when you play back the track you already have. A piezo pickup might work better than a microphone for either of these. (They’re cheap too.)