Mixing problem - no output

First, although I am an BEE broadcast engineer with many years of studio experience with “real” mixing consoles, I am a newbie at DAWs and Cubase. With the coronavirus shutting everything down, I have plenty of time to learn…

I have a frustrating problem. In Cubase 9.5 LE:
(1) If I open one of the stock templates and do some midi tracks, the mixer panel works as it should, (solo, mute etc.) and the faders adjust levels (and meters) and send to the master stereo out (and meter). Audio is in my speakers. I can export to audio mixdown just fine. Everything seems to work as I would expect.
(2) If I import a midi file (some example I found on the internet) into a project, I get all of the midi instrument tracks, I can edit them (copy, move etc.). However in the mixer panel the faders have no effect. Channel levels (meters) are unchanged no matter where the faders are set and there is nothing sent to the master stereo out (no meter activity). Channel mutes do function. I still get audio in my speakers, based on what is unmuted. I also just get a blank file if I try to export to audio mixdown.

It’s as if all the midi channels are patched directly to some solo or monitor bus (which I can’t seem to find) that goes to my speakers but not to the stereo main mix bus.

What am I missing here?

Hard to be sure without seeing what’s going on, but I suspect the useless faders are for MIDI Control Data and not Audio.

There are 2 types of Tracks in Cubase that can Play MIDI - MIDI Tracks and Instrument Tracks. It is very worthwhile to read the Ops Manual on them to understand all the differences.

With MIDI Tracks you have to load a VSTi into the Rack as a Rack Instrument (not Track Instrument) and then in the MIDI Track’s Inspector assign the Track’s output to this Instrument. So the sound doesn’t come from the fader(s) with the Track’s name but instead from the fader(s) with the Instrument’s name. Initially this was the only way to use MIDI.