mod wheel mapping for dummies

like me.

I’ve read the manuals…I’ve searched the forums…the internet…it must be going over my head. I have Cubase 10 elements. I use Play 6 and NI Kontact. VSTs

The 2 mod wheel type things on my Roland FP60 will Midi learn whatever I need it to, but it won’t UNLEARN CC7 ( Main Volume)
Both Mod wheels insist on keeping CC7. The main volume in my Kontakt Libarary in the upper right always moves with my physical Mod wheel. I don’t want it to. I just want to use it for CC1 and CC11 and be done with it. How do I change where my physical mod wheels are mapped to?

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

Please, double-check Studio > Studio Setup > all Remote Devices.

Done that.
Nothing called ‘all remote devices’. Remote Devices gives me a blank page. Generic Remote gives me a list of Fader control names.
Like I said…I’m missing something…or its going over my head. I’m pretty new at Cubase, but I do know that cc1 and cc11 are something I need to learn how to map.

Like Martin I’m suspecting something is not set up the right way.
Check all your midi settings, make you are not sending midi information to other devices or ports that might be looping around.
That includes the “All Midi In” settings, make sure only the appropriate midi devices are selected.
It might be easier to spot if you take a few screenshots.
Could also be something completely different, but let’s rule out the easiest causes first.

Ok…here are some snapshots…if there are specific ones you want…let me know.

a couple more…

I just found something else out.
My left mod wheel also controls stereo in…which I do not want.
And my right mod wheel controls stereo out…which I do not want.

Hopefully this can be all fixed.

Hi,

Set the Generic Remote MIDI Input to Not Connected. This should solve your problem.

If you use any Quick Controls, unassigned them, or set the Quick Controls (both Track and VST) MIDI Input to Not Connected too.