Mod Wheel on Automation Track

Greetings,

I’m hoping someone here can help me, as my problem is related to Cubase, Kontakt, and orchestral VSTs. From the outset, I am a hobbyist (and a relatively new one), so forgive my lack of knowledge or incorrect terminology.

I have a Roland FA08 as a controller, and my issue is regarding the modwheel. The modwheel on the FA08 is a common configuration - you push up or down for mod, left and right for pitch bend.

1. While in Kontakt I load up, say for example, NI Symphony Series strings or Cinematic Studio Strings. When I move the modwheel up and down, the volume/expression (whatever happens to be mapped by default to the modwheel) works perfectly. I can see on the Kontakt instance the modwheel moves up and down, and I can hear the volume/expression changing. Everything works perfectly.

2. I record a simple part. IF I use the modwheel during the recording, the volume/expression is recorded along with the part. I can see that “data” overlayed on the midi part (I haven’t figured out why it overlays this data - I’m still learning Cubase).

This is what does NOT work:

I often want to simply record a part (focusing on the performance), then automate the volume/expression via an automation track. If I record the part without the modwheel data, then add an automation track for volume/expression, the modwheel will not work. I’ve tried adding all kinds of tracks related to that data, Midi channel automation tracks (CC1 Modulation, CC11 - Expression), Kontakt automation tracks (e.g. Volume - CSS 1s), and nothing works. I obviously can draw in the data, but I’d really like to use the modwheel.

What I just don’t understand is why it would work while I record the initial part, but not on an automation track.

I’ve been fighting this for several days, if any of you have any ideas, I’m all ears.

Thank you.

I have been haunted by this problem as well, and in a similar context. There’s a bit of a hack that should work: