Movable text?

Pardon me for asking what might sound like a dumb question because I am just learning Dorico, but I am having trouble placing text where I want it. I am using default text (want to put just a word describing the way a note is to be performed right below a bass note, but it keeps going on top of the staff above the tenor note). I know you can move things right and left with Alt and arrows, and you can move the baseline, but adjusting baseline is not working. Is there some kind of just random text (WITHOUT ATTACHING TO ANYTHING that would prevent moving it where I want it) that you can just move around with the mouse just exactly where you want it? I have looked in the manual but can’t find anything. THANKS MUCH! LCR

I think the best solution in your case would be to use Shift-X, as you’re doing. Then with the text item selected and turned orange, press F to move it below the staff.

Shift-X text goes above the staff by default. Once you’ve placed it up above the staff, with it still selected, type F to flip it below the staff.

Was fixing my answer and got ninja’d by the ubiquitous Leo… :sunglasses:

Thanks, guys - much appreciated! Am I correct in thinking that in Dorico there is no way to move “plain text” with the mouse anywhere you want it like you can in Sibelius?

In Sibelius, when you drag text around with the mouse the attachment point can behave unpredictably: you can end up with a situation where a piece of text is attached to one instrument but is physically closer to the stave of another instrument.
This means that text (and dynamics) can end up looking fine in the score, but actually appear in the wrong people’s parts! To be fair to Sibelius, there’s a modifier key that you can hold to prevent Sibelius from changing the attachment point, but many users don’t seem to be aware of it.