MR816x not recording audio into cubase

I have a new steinberg MR816x firewire interface. I have a T.I chipset firewire card, and the drivers were downloaded from steinbergs site today. Everything installed perfectly, and I also installed and registered the AI 5 that came with the interface.

I turn on the interface then boot up cubase ai. All the channels show up as active, and when i choose the direct monitoring option and the monitor button in the mixer, i can hear through the microphone. However when i hit record, nothing gets recorded. dead quiet…

I believe it might have something to do with the MR editor, and I am trying to get to the control room feature in ai 5, but i feel like they left that feature out in the AI version.

I tried everything i know to do. I’m new to cubase and multichannel interfaces are somewhat new to me. However, i didnt think i would be so stumped so quickly.

Any help would be wonderfuly appreciated. Also i dont know whether i should have my word clock on internal or word clock in. Word clocks seem confusing to me.

Control room is a C4, C5, C6 feature only, Clock source should be internal.

Take it out of Direct Monitoring mode for the moment and see if you still get a sound through a record and monitor enabled track?

If not check your Connections and channel input selection.

Thank you for your reply,

OK, so I turned off the direct monitoring. Nothing happened, same thing just no more monitoring.
SO, Then I decided to import an audio track too see if it would even play back.
I inserted the audio track and hit play… No audio coming out either. I have pictures showing the inputs set up to input 1 and the outputs to output 1/2 which would be stereo.