Multi Track recording - Create tracks from lanes is splitting some tracks at seemingly random places

Hi all, First post. I recently switched from a Yamaha AG06 (which sums all tracks into one stereo mix) to a UR44-C which has allows me to record my two mic’d guitar amps, and a drum machine all to separate tracks so I don;'t have to spend so much time making sure levels are spot on before each take.

My setyup: (I am an IT guy by profession, a musician at heart)
Computer: Core i9, 32GB RAM, NVMe solid state drive, UR44C. It is a very very fast computer.
Cubase 11 Pro, and now using Cubase 12 Pro thanks to the grace period upgrade! this behaviour existed in both though.
-Two mic’d guitar amps (e609 and e906 mics) into inputs 1 and 2
-SR18 Drum machine into Yamaha AG06 which goes into the inputs 5&6 on my UR44-C as a stereo left and right - combined channels using the dspMIXfx control software.
-Defaults for Yamaha Steinberg Control Panel (High speed USB 3.1, 44.1 khz, ASIO Mode: Standard, 512 Samples, I use the external power supply as well.

Every session, I create the three tracks (and usually another for a VST instrument for keys) and then we go on about our business for a few hours. I allow it to record takes instead of creating new tracks or new projects for each jam we do.

Once our seesion is over (usually resulting in about 7-10 lanes for each track) I use the create tracks from lanes function, then playback one take at a time and adjust gain for each track accordingly from the takes to balance things out, then use audio mixdowns to get all out takes into individual files.