Music: Joy

A friend of mine wrote this song and I offered him to do a recording of it and add some drums etc.
Here’s a first mix, I’d like your thoughts on it.

Myself I find the vocals very weak somehow, I’m not really sure what I can do to improve that. (better articulation would surely help, we’ll probably end up rerecording the whole thing anyway.)
The guitar is a 2-bar loop because he couldn’t reliable play for much longer on tempo without errors, so that’s a point of improvement I’m well aware of.

This is my first time doing something like this and I know it’s not on the level of most of the music posted in this forum, but feel free to bash it as long as it’s constructive :sunglasses:

The accoustic guitar was recorded straight from it’s pickups through my mackie preamps into cubase, all editing was done afterwards inside cubase. Vocals were recorded in my bedroom using a Behringer ultravoice (I know :laughing: )
The drums I played myself on my drumkit, samples are all from the DM5 as well. The synthy sound is from my EM-20.

sounds good youve got the makings of a good tune there stick at it , vocals could do with a bit more presence they seem to have a bit of a mid thing going on but the singer sounds good , maybe put some instrumental breaks in there (i dont mean guitar solo`s)or percusion breaks to maybe break it up a bit , sounds like a good track in the makin.

Yeah, good pop song in there somewhere. I’d agree the vocals need to be redone but you’re off to a good start :sunglasses:
Cheers
Phil

Thanks lads, I would agree with all of that :slight_smile:

Definitely worth working on!

Keep at it!!!
Look foward to hearing its progress!

Cheers
Sav

Hi Rick,

it’s certainly the core of a good pop song. :wink:

I think the vocals (other than re-recording them) would benefit from multiple compressors.
Grab five or six “character” settings and line them up in the project, then route the
vocal to each of them.