My Cubase can't handle quick drums

Hi!

First and foremost, I’m new to this. I’ve just recently started writing music and using Cubase. I’m having a blast this far! :slight_smile:

I use Cubase 5.1 and have a problem. I’m mainly writing movie-scores and trailer-music which obviously requires a lot of deep and heavy drums, to make it sound heroic. And I’m trying to do just that, write an epic piece that uses a lot of drums, but I’ve sadly been interrupted by a problem.

I use 3 different heavy drums that just keeps the pace going, and even if they’re of very high volume it works fine within Cubase. However, when I try to add a lighter tom that is hit relatively fast (it basically just pumps on and on with hits) I run into a problem. I import these drums through the usage of MIDI (written in Guitar Pro 5) and can choose between different VSTs etc without and problems, but when I try to play the piece with the fast toms it starts to crackle and decrepitate in the output of my headphones, and most of the sound of the drums dissapears. Cubase also becomes very slow during this and sometimes I takes a couple of seconds before I can even stop the music again.
However, if I mute the track with the quick drums, it runs just fine.

After a quick research I realised I was using the 32 Bit version of Cubase, even though my version of Win7 is 64 Bit. I’ve previously read that the 32 Bits version should work well with a 64 Bits OS, and even that it would handle VSTs better (might very well be misinformed).

I can also tell you that A TON OF my physical memory/RAM is being used while I use Cubase (reached 7,5GB used RAM, and I have a max of 8GB). I guess this might also be caused by the 32 Bits version?

So, to my main question;
Do I have to change to the 64 Bits version and install that instead, or is there any other solution to this problem? If I’m not mistaken the 64 Bits version should be available if I already have the 32 Bits, right?

Thanks in advance!