My digital piano has no MIDI In/Out, just a USB

Hi Guys,

I am proud to say that I am finally using Cubase Pro 8. I bought it last year but I never used it until now. I just bought the UR22 but plan to purchase the UR44 eventually this year. I am super excited but I have a few minor problems. My digital piano (Williams 88 Key Legato) can be used as a MIDI keyboard according to the manual and it has a USB slot for the PC. So, how can my interface pick it up? I am still learning Cubase Pro 8. The last Cubase program I used was back in 2008 when I was in music business school, and the entire program has changed for the most part. I am currently watching the Steinberg tutorial videos on YouTube but it’s somewhat daunting and intimidating. And normally, my brother does all the recordings and mixing; he’s a Pro Tools user (producer level); I normally just compose the music and don’t do anything else. Any guidance will be helpful for mastering the software like other websites, books, etc. It will be much appreciated!

Not sure if this will help, but my system is Windows 8.1 (I refuse to upgrade to Windows 10) and my PC is from the Lenovo Y series. Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and I’ll be looking forward to some responses. Have a good one!

Alex

you can just connect your Williams 88 Key to your computer, why you want to attach over the UR22?

I´m using three things as same as you: Cubase Pro 8.5, on Windows 8.1, with an UR22

Question:

I can set the tracks to my digital piano from Cubase? Let’s say that I have 3 tracks set up in Cubase. How can I link those tracks to my digital piano? I know how to do it if the instrument is directly connected to the interface. Any help will be appreciated.

I am fairly new to this recording process, so please bare with me. I can play a mean piano and write a lot of songs but I need a lot of time before becoming a pro at Cubase! It’s something that I want to do very badly!