My first 5.1 Mix -- Yay!

Many of you are pros, and this stuff is old hat to you, but I just completed my first 5.1 mix (with DVD author) this past weekend, and I just wanted to shout it out. I’m a picture editor by trade, but have been dabbling with Nuendo for a while.

This job wasn’t for final delivery, I’ll still leave that to the audio pros obviously, but we needed a screener for a cast and crew, and I took it upon myself to do a “screener mix.” Nothing like really having to do it to make you learn the tools. Definitely found I spent the better part of Saturday just getting my head around the basics, but by late afternoon I was making progress, and by 1am I had made a pretty decent pass across the whole short. Turned the clock back, thus buying an extra hour, and was back in the next morning at 6:30am to finish up and encode for the screening.

I spent a disproportionate amount of time tweaking in Sound Soap 2 Pro and iZotope RX (both of which I got my decidedly cheap client to pay for, which was nice), and enjoyed that as well. At first I wasn’t too impressed with SS, but as I tweaked it a bit more, I found it was very good at certain noises. I also REALLY liked the spectrum editing in iZotope RX for certain sounds (rogue cricket chirps, anybody?).

Bounced my mix as 6 discreet tracks and used the 5.1 encoder in Apple Compressor to build my encoded audio. Then authored in DVD Studio Pro and screened at 6pm. Huge success, and I gotta say, I was pretty proud of myself. Sounded great.

Nothing earth shattering, just weighing in on how much this relative newbie enjoyed the tools. I’m confident enough now that I might actually pursue a few more “festival” mixes to expand my skill set. I’m sure there are things I did that a pro would shake his head at, but I muddled thru. Definitely looking forward to expanding my knowledge of the software. Does anybody know of any good online or DVD tutorials for N5 automation?