My first real song with Cubase. I'm a newbie

Hi guys.

I’m a newbie so some help would be great… I have a song but the vocals aren’t laid down just yet…

All the instruments are from the built in VSTs in Cubase 5.

I’m just not sure what to do as far as EQ and things like that which I hear about and how to make it right… any advice? Take a listen? Also any advice as far as notes and things like that will be appreciated since I’m just a self-taught musician(I hope I’m a musician…)

I’m a newbie so I will gladly try to learn from any posts that come here. Please don’t be too harsh hahah. :imp:

If you have iTunes on your computer it should play through that , but just give it some time to open cuz it has to download.

Good first song. Nice atmospheric opening. It would be interesting to hear it with the vocals.
The nylon guitar type patch that you use as the main instrument for the first half of the song would be good if you could play a real guitar or get someone to do it for you. I find some of the cut-off’s leading into a new section a bit abrupt, but maybe it would sound different with the vocals on there.
Keep 'em coming,
Cheers Steve

Thanks Steve,

The instsrument in the start is actually the VST Harp in Halion. It was the closest sounding instrument to my preferred piano sound.

welcome to the show.
yup, nice piece, very cinematic movements with a ton of possibilities. I enjoyed the arrangement. curious how you’ll finish it.