My recordings sound all warbly

Hey there everyone. I am new to all this, but I will start off by clarifying I have read the manual three times, cover to cover, and I can’t fix my issue…

When I record my mic’d up electric guitar on a clean channel, everything is hunky-dory, no problems, no strange artifacts, etc. But as soon as I introduce any gain into the mix, it sounds not so much underwater, as it does like it has a phaser effect on it, which I don’t even own lol. This is becoming very, very frustrating, so any help would be awesome.

My rig rundown, if it is helpful at all, is:

Engl Savage 120
Egnater 4x12 w/v30’s
ESP Horizon
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Mic is on a stand and have tried several different mic positions
All goes into my computer via USB

I am thinking about just switching to REAPER as the recordings don’t have this issue in that program, but REAPER has in insane amount of latency, which is just not ok.

Again, thanks for any help.

What do you mean by “as soon as I introduce any gain into the mix”?

Are you talking about more gain on the amplifier (as in more pre amp distortion/more output gain)? More gain on the interface input? More gain on the input bus in Cubase (BTW, you didn’t mention which version you are using)?

Any chance you can post an audio sample of the “hunky-dory” “clean channel” (do you mean clean channel on your amp?) vs. the “all warbly” one?

I haven’t the slightest idea on how to post clips yet sorry… But i am using Cubase LE6, came with the little bundle I bought.

The clean channel, on my amp, to be clear, sounds fine. Nice and crystaline, pretty, stuff that girlfriends like.

When I switch to the high gain stuff on my amp, then it gets all weird… I really wish I could describe it better, but, it really sounds almost like maybe something else is picking up the sound, and recording the recording, if that makes any sense? Sounds like a phaser effect is being ran, though it isn’t.

:laughing: