My setup experience with Cubase LE 5

Hello Forum,

this is my first post, but I guess there won’t be many (if any) to follow. I wanted to post this to give some feedback to Steinberg, also maybe someone from the company would like to comment.
Please note that I am not asking for support, I merely want to give feedback.

First, my situation is this: I am completely new to the whole topic, but I want to get into music production (on a very rookie level at first of course). So I hardly have any experience with DAWs and haven’t bought any until now. I bought all the hardware I deemed necessary, among which was an audio interface by a german company. Bundled with the interface was Cubase LE 5.

I was really excited to play around with Cubase since I heard so much about it. So I wanted to install it right away. In goes the DVD, click Setup and …eLicenser. What. is. that. It almost looks like some sort of malware, with that hideous logo, and now what? It wants to install a driver on my laptop? Well Google tells me that this is indeed something associated with Steinberg products so I reluctantly install this ominous software, fully aware of the security and stability risks for my system that come with a driver like this. I really wanted to try Cubase.