Need a good acoustic Grand Piano

Cubase Pro 11 noob here. I need a decent acoustic grand piano. Prior to buying Cubase Pro I was led to believe that the stock Halion Se pianos were up to snuff, but I haven’t found any that seem to be. For example the “GM001 Acoustic Grand Piano” sounds OK in some octaves, but in others, like the third octave, it sounds very electronic. I can’t tell if that’s because it’s not that good to begin with or I need to tweak some settings. I own a Steinway “A” grand piano so I’m using that for my baseline of what a decent acoustic piano should sound like.

I’m confused about Halion because I know it has sampling capabilities but it’s also a synth. So are its pianos synthed or sampled? I see Halion has a P90. I own a P80 (the P90’s predecessor) and I’ve used a P90 - they’re “OK” but no one will confuse them with a real piano.
What’s the minimum I have to pay in time and money to get a good, sampled, grand acoustic piano for Cubase? (and why would Cubase “Pro” not already come with one?)

https://www.modartt.com/try

Here is the demo for pianoteq. It’s only 50 MB. Download, play, see if it suits you. Starting price is 130.

No, they’re synthetic. The best synth in the world will never (with current technology, at least) sound as good as a sampled instrument. Read their website:

> What makes Pianoteq superior to other virtual instruments is that the instruments are physically modelled and thus can simulate the playability and complex behaviour of real acoustic instruments. Because there are no samples, the file size is just a tiny fraction of that required by other virtual instruments, making Pianoteq perfect for any modern laptop.

Ok, but did you play it or listen to it? :wink:

Do you know of any sampled libraries that model sympathetic vibrations? I don’t.

Do you know of any sampled libraries that model sympathetic vibrations? I don’t.