Need some reassurance: making my track export loud is done via mastering

Hi there, I’m a newbie when it comes to home recording. I have Cubase 11 LE and I experienced the other day the thing where you export a mixdown and the volume sounds soft compared to when playing it via Cubase and my audio interface. After reading plenty of posts about other people experiencing this, I’ve come to the conclusion that as long as my stereo output does not peak (ie my loudest stereo output is about -3db), it is ok that my audio mixdown has a low volume. Because getting it to a “normal” volume ready for people to listen to is what happens in the mastering stage, when mastering my exported mixdown file.

Am I correct with the above? I haven’t explored mastering yet, but just wanted to make sure I’m understanding correctly so far. Thanks!

It seems more likely to me that the program you’re using to listen to the exported file, uses a different volume control than the full-scale volume staging you get in Cubase, and/or uses a different sound driver path (for example WMA instead of ASIO) that adds its own volume control.

Also, you could master directly on the master bus in Cubase. Tweak some EQ, maybe multiband companding, maybe some soft saturation, a maximizer and a final dither, and you can get close enough for government work, especially if you are going to encode to MP3 or upload to the tubes and their separate transcoding pipelines afterwards anyway.

Anyway – very likely, the thing making it less loud is the playback software/pipeline, not the song bits themselves. Cubase renders out exactly what it plays out through your music interface. (Except for converting for bit depth conversion and file format specifics, if needed.)

1 Like