network daw . slly quesions but ?3

Hi guys !
just brought a new pc i5 to replace my now ageing quad core.
the old pc was very reliable and almost never gave me any probs…
i would like to use the old pc as storage and or as a slave using some third party VST …
Q.:
what is a good way to achieve this (cost factor plays a role in this )
i want to run only one pc with cubase so … no 2nd licence . will the vst plugins and instr work or will i have to install them on the new DAW ??

i have an old router an i use this to network them together and Evt a laptop ??
like i said silly questions but i realy have no clue at all as far as neworks are concerned … i am just a musician trying to get some work done in the best way i can …
thanks in advance-
Tony

If you’re using Ethernet Networking you should be able to use a single Ethernet ‘cross-over’ cable between two PC’s. You should only need a router if networking more than two PC’s. You can use a router for two if you want, but in the last two cases use regular Ethernet cables. It’s best to use a very fast Ethernet card on your PC too.

If you don’t want to pay for two Cubase licenses, you have to pay for ‘something else’ … say like Vienna Ensemble Pro (VEP) which costs about as much as Cubase.

There’s also FX-Max Teleport, which you can get for free these days, which will work on an older OS like XP, but support has ended for it, being out of business and all. VEP has taken over, and will be better for current OS’s.

There are other ways to network computers as well…even audio/midi sound card networking, but you’ll have to either have to have ‘some kind’ of DAW software to host VSTi’s, or run the VSTi’s in a stand-alone mode.

If its GbE (Gigabit Ethernet), that is best. It also allows you to connect your NAS box (you know, for your backups!).